First Steps

18 08 2005

I have been wanting to start a blog for a while now (okay, it has only been a couple of days) but I kept stopping myself because i could not figure out what I wanted to say and how I wanted to say it. However, I know what I am passionate about and what I want to talk about. Here is a short list:

Jesus, my friend, Savior, and Lord
The Church (I am especially concerned about how we are to live out our faith in the context of authentic, biblical, community)
Good Books
Stimulating Conversation
Movies
Cycling (both mountain and road)
Jubilee/Kingdom of God
Racial Reconciliation
My Family

A little bit more about me, I am a black guy, 44 years old. I am married to Kim, and I am the father of Becca, Sojourner and Jordan. I am a graduate of Morehouse College in Atlanta, GA, and Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary in Hamilton, MA.
I was born in Japan and raised in NY and MI.

Currently I am a campus minister with InterVarsity Christian Fellowship at Oberlin College.

Why am a blogging? Primarilly for way to connect into a larger community of thoughtful Christians who are interested in having a conversation in how we are to “do church” in this postmodern age that we are living in.

I fell in to this post modern discussion just a couple of weeks ago with a new friend in Columbus, OH. He told me that he is connected with several young church planters who started their own communities of faith all over Ohio. He of course has his own community right smack dab in inner city Columbus.

These post modern Christians, as they like to call themselves, endeavor to live in authentic Christian community, seek justice, and find new ways to creatively worship the risen Christ. Some of them are even trying to rethink the faith altogether (I can not get with that myself). If you want to have a more detailed understanding of the ethos and history of this movement, check out: emergent village, the ooze.com, relevant, and alleone.

Finally, I am primarilly interested in living out the Kingdom and discerning the true meaning of Shalom, Shabbat, Pentecost, and Jubilee. I will upack these themes in the next few weeks. I hope you come along with me for the ride. Feel free to post your questions or comments.

Actions

Information

3 responses

20 08 2005
Andre

Marc,
Welcome to the blogsphere.

21 08 2005
Marc Davidson

Thanks for finding your way here Dre.

25 08 2005
José & Mayra Humphreys

Marc,

good stuff. i’m looking forward to what you’ll be writing.–>

Leave a Reply

